Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education

View/Print PDF

The Board of Regents for Higher Education is the governing body for the state's 12 community colleges; 4 state universities; and Charter Oak State College, the state's fully-online, public, degree-granting institution. The 17 Connecticut State Colleges and Universities within the system encompass 96,000 students and offer more than 1,200 degree and certificate programs.

The Board of Regents is comprised of 15 members. Nine members are appointed by the Governor and four are appointed by legislative leadership, of whom one is a specialist in K-12 education and the three remaining are alumni of the Community Colleges, Connecticut State University Systems, and Charter Oak State College. Also serving on the Board as full voting members are the chair and vice-chair of a new Student Advisory Committee. The Commissioners of the Departments of Public Health, Labor, Economic and Community Development and Education each serve as ex-officio members of the Board of Regents. Each campus operates with a considerable measure of autonomy and functions under the leadership of a president. For more information, visit the Board of Regents website at