Tuition and Fee Policies
Fees are established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU). This listing is intended to help estimate the costs of attending the University. Students will be responsible for any fee increase that the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities authorizes up to the first day of classes for 2022-2023.
BILL AND PAYMENT
Students and authorized users will receive an email notification when a new statement is available for viewing online. Paper statements are not mailed out.
Payment Due Dates:
Fall semester bills are due July 15, and spring semester bills are due December 15, or upon registration if the due date has passed. Payment for summer, winter,or spring break intersession is due upon registration.
To establish proper payment arrangements by the bill deadline, the Student Accounts Office must receive one or a combination of the following to cover the balance in full:
- Financial aid award, including scholarships, posted to the student's account.
- Personal or third party payment on account.
- Signed payment plan agreement with down payment.
Please visit the Student Accounts website for more information.
Past Due Accounts:
An account is considered past due once the due date has passed. Student accounts may become past due for various reasons (i.e. inadequate or returned financial aid, missed payment(s) on payment plans, the addition of unpaid charges/courses after the bill due date, etc.)
If a student does not pay the amount due by the due date, a hold may be placed on the student's account restricting course registration, transcript requests, a student may not be allowed to move into a residence hall until the payment is made, and a student may be subject to class schedule or housing assignment cancellation due to non-payment. To be reinstated, payment of a $100 non-refundable re-registration fee plus the original account balance in full is required, though availability of the student's original class schedule and housing assignment is not guaranteed. Past due accounts are also subject to a $50 late fee after a ten (10) day grace period.
Past Due Payment Plan:
Students may request a past due payment plan with the Student Accounts Office, although the hold described above will remain in place until the account balance is paid in full. The penalties for late/non-payment above also apply to past due payment plans. Failure to make a required payment plan installment within thirty (30) days of any due date will result in the student being withdrawn from the past due payment plan and the account will be sent to a collection agency without further notice.
Collection of Debt:
In an effort to collect past due debt, the University will send collection letters and emails to students at their last known address. To avoid account referral to a collection agency, students must pay the balance in full, or set up a past due payment plan within 30 days of the notice. For accounts referred to a collection agency, students are responsible for all collection fees, the balance will be reported to a national credit bureau(s), and the University will no longer accept direct payment--in that the student must make all payments to the collection agency before conducting any further business with the University.
HOUSING AND BOARD
Students requesting to reside in a residence hall must pay a $250 non-refundable Housing Deposit upon application for housing. The deposit contracts a student for housing for the entire academic year. Students who plan to continue residing in a residence hall room in the following year must pay the non-refundable $250 Housing Deposit each March for the ensuing fall semester.
The Housing Agreement is financially binding for the academic year term and charges will be applied to the student's account during each semester. The balance of the housing charges for all residence hall students is due July 15th for the fall semester and December 15th for the spring semester. The full housing deposit payment will be applied toward the housing charges in the semester the application is submitted.
|Students||Room Type||Cost/Semester||Meal Plan Cost/Semester|
All residents are required to be on a meal plan. Meal plan requirements vary based on room type and student status. For more information regarding Housing and Meal Plan costs, please visit the Residence Life website.
Regulations established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities govern the refund of tuition and other fees at Southern Connecticut State University. Full-time students who wish to receive a refund must withdraw formally from the university. Full-time students are not entitled to a refund for courses individually dropped. Part-time students who wish to receive course refunds must formally withdraw from the course(s). It is the student's responsibility to withdraw online through their Banner Web account.
For the purpose of this policy, a school term may be defined as the period of time with specific start and end dates, during which the University holds classes. Multiple terms of different lengths may exist within any given semester or intersession. The amount of refund is based on the date the student withdraws from the term, not on whether the student attended classes or on how many classes the student attended.
For students who withdrew/dropped from a course(s) or the university, please see the Refund Policies below for the time periods where a cancellation of charges may be applicable. These policies exclude the effect of the return of financial aid and veteran benefits due to withdrawal, which may then result in the student owing funds to the University, the government, or both.
Full-time Tuition and Fee Refund Schedule
- Upon withdrawal from the University up to, but not including, the first day of the term, as defined by the published University calendar, 100% of the term charges will be cancelled.
- 90% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first week of the term.
- 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the second week of the term.
- 40% of the term charges will be cancelled during the third and fourth weeks of the term.
- No cancellation of charges after the fourth week of the term.
Note: The tuition, university general fee, university fee, transportation fee, student activity fee, and media fee are all subject to the refund policy. All other fees are considered non-refundable. Online programs follow the same refund schedule above.
Part-time Tuition and Fee Refund Schedule
Courses 8 weeks or greater in length:
- 100% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first week of the term.
- 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the second week of the term.
- 40% of the term charges will be cancelled during the third and fourth weeks of the term.
- No refund after the fourth week of the term.
Courses 3 to 7 weeks in length:
- 100% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first 3 calendar days of the term.
- 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the fourth, fifth, sixth calendar days of the term.
- 40% of the term charges will be cancelled during the seventh, eighth, and ninth calendar day of the term.
- No cancellation of charges after the ninth calendar day of the term.
Courses less than 3 weeks in length:
- 100% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first 2 calendar days of the term.
- 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the third and fourth calendar day of the term.
- No cancellation of charges after the fourth calendar day of the term.
Ed.D. Professional Seminar:
- 75% of the term charges will be cancelled within the first 2 calendar days of the term.
- No cancellation of charges thereafter.
Note: Online courses follow the same refund schedules above. The tuition, general university fee, and intersession course fees are all subject to the refund policy. All other fees are considered non-refundable, except that the Registration Fee will be refunded in cases where the university cancels a course.
Under circumstances beyond the control of the student or in cases where attendance has been denied by the institution, the University or College President may authorize the deferment or waive the collection of the admissions and/or housing deposit, as well as the refunding of tuition and fees otherwise designated as non-refundable. Appeals must be made within 30 days following of a student's withdrawal.
Generally, a student's residency classification is determined at the time of application for admission. Any student classified as an out of state resident, who feels that he or she qualifies as a resident of Connecticut in accordance with Connecticut General Statute 10a-26, may file an Application for In-State Tuition at any time to request a change of classification. You may or may not be called for an interview, after which you will receive notification of your application status. If approved, reclassification will not be retroactive to prior semesters. As a reminder, all students are subject to the Student Code of Conduct & Statement of Disciplinary Procedures, which prohibits the act of providing false information to school officials.
International students with temporary United States government status (i.e., visa holders) cannot establish permanent residence in Connecticut for tuition purposes. Therefore, international students on visas are considered out-of-state residents.
TUITION AND FEES
The rates below include the Fall and Spring semesters for a full-time, in-state student in a standard graduate rate program. For the part-time, online, doctoral, and intersession rates, please visit the Tuition and Fees section of the Student Accounts website.
|Connecticut Resident||Out-of State*/
|University General Fee||$4,708||$4,708|
|Student Activity Fee||$54||$54|
|Writing Center Fee||$40||$40|
|Commuting Student Total||$13,854||$26,552|
|Housing Fee (Townhouse)||$9,680||$9,680|
|Meal Plan (25 Meals per sem)||$796||$796|
|Resident Hall Student Total||$24,330||$37,034|
*Students in the New England Regional Program pay 50 percent above in state tuition rather than the full out of state tuition. Please refer to New England Regional Student Program in Admission section for additional information.
Tuition and fees are not based on the level (graduate/undergraduate) of the course; tuition and fees are instead based on student level (graduate/ undergraduate), their residency (in state/out-of-state), their status (full-time or part-time), and if applicable, the course/program differential rate (MBA, MLS/MLIS, EdD, Online). A student who has earned a bachelor's degree and is not formally admitted to a second undergraduate program will be considered a graduate level student.
All fees listed here are considered non-refundable.
|Application Fee||$50 one-time fee must be submitted with the completed application for admission.|
|Bad Check Penalty||$20 fee will be assessed for each check returned from the bank as uncollectible.|
|Challenge Exam Fee||$250/occurrence.|
|Credit Card Service Fee||2.85%/transaction fee will be applied to tuition and fee credit card transactions (minimum $3).|
|Fitness Center Fee||$45/semester|
|Graduate Continuous Enrollment Fee||$150/semester|
|Lab Fees (course)||
|Lab Fees (program)||
|Late Fee||$50/occurrence fee will be assessed to past due accounts after the expiration of the ten (10) day grace period. A one-time courtesy waiver may be granted upon request via email to SCSU Student Accounts.|
|Lost ID Card||$10 fee (first occurrence)
$20 fee (occurrence thereafter)
|Nursing Ed.D Residency Fee||$1,360/residency|
|Orientation Fee||$150 mandatory fee is assessed to all new (including transfer) students to support orientation and other new student programming. This fee cannot be waived for students who opt not to attend.|
|Over Registration Fee||
|Parking and Traffic Fines||Fines are posted on the Parking Regulations website.|
|Payment Plan Enrollment Fee||$45/term fee will be payable at the time of enrollment in a payment plan agreement.|
|Past Due Payment Plan Enrollment Fee||$50/term fee will be payable at the time of enrollment in a payment plan for inactive students.|
|Re-Registration Fee||$100 fee will be charged to students who have been dropped from their courses and would like to re-register. A one-time courtesy waiver may be granted upon request via email to SCSU Student Accounts.|
|Study Abroad Application Fee||$75/semester|
|Study Abroad Program Fee||$150/semester|
|Transcript Fee||No charge|
|Transcript On-Demand Fee||$15/occurrence fee is payable at the time of request, for official transcripts that are requested in-person and needed immediately.|
Southern Connecticut State University is approved for the training of veterans and other eligible persons by the Connecticut State Approving Agency. The following resources will guide you through the eligibility and application process for each available benefit.
Veteran Tuition Waiver:
Under Connecticut state statutes, tuition at Connecticut public colleges and universities may be waived, after any federal tuition benefit received, during the fall and spring semesters*, for qualified persons in the categories listed below.
- Eligible veterans1, or
- Active members of the CT Army and Air National Guard, or
- CT residents who are dependent child or surviving spouse of a member of the Armed Forces killed in action on or after 9/11/01 who was a CT resident, or
- CT residents who are dependent child of person whom the Armed Forces has declared to be either missing in action or a prisoner of war while serving in the Armed Forces after 1/1/60.
Other college costs such as books, student activity and course fees, parking, and room and board are not covered by the waiver, and eligibility is not retroactive. If applicable, the state tuition waiver also covers the amount of tuition remaining after the application of Post 9/11 educational benefits.
*During the Summer and Winter intersessions, course fees are billed in lieu of tuition. Eligible persons in category 1 above may receive a 50% waiver of the course fee, and eligible persons in category 4 above may receive a 100% waiver of the course fee.
1Eligible veterans include individuals who have served at least 90 days total (consecutive or aggregate) active duty in a time of war (see below) except if separated from service earlier because of a Federal Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) related service-connected disability; or the war, campaign or operation lasted less than 90 days and service was for the Duration of the conflict or campaign. Active duty time earned for your training (Basic/Boot Camp, AIT, or Tech School, Weekend Drill or Annual Training) does not qualify for the waiver.
Pursuant to Public Law 18-47, effective October 01, 2018, the CT Veterans Tuition Waiver is extended to certain veterans with "Other than Honorable" discharge. The individual applying for the waiver must submit a completed CT DVA OTH Form 1 along with all other required documentation. Individuals with a "Bad Conduct" or "Dishonorable" discharge are not eligible for the waiver.
Veterans who served in the following manner are eligible:
Active duty for at least ninety (90) days:
- World War II- December 7, 1941 to December 31, 1946
- Korean Hostilities- June 27, 1950 to January 31, 1955
- Vietnam- February 28, 1961 to July 1, 1975
- Persian Gulf Era (August 2, 1990- a date to be determined by Presidential proclamation or federal law- Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm, Enduring Freedom (Afghanistan) and Iraqi Freedom are included in this category.)
OR, Engaged in combat or in combat support role in the:
- Lebanon Conflict- July 1, 1958 to November 1, 1958
- Peace-keeping Mission in Lebanon- September 29, 1982 to March 30, 1984
- Grenada Invasion- October 25, 1983 to December 15, 1983
- Operation Earnest Will- July 24, 1987 to August 1, 1990
- Panama Invasion- December 20, 1989 to January 31, 1990
To qualify, eligible individuals must:
- Be accepted for admission at Southern Connecticut State University
- Be domiciled in Connecticut at the time of acceptance, which is the date of your acceptance letter, this includes domicile for less than one year
- Be matriculated into a University degree or certificate program
- Complete the Veteran Benefits Application to apply for the state tuition waiver, and if applicable, request enrollment certification for VA educational benefits.
Veteran Education Benefits:
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs offers many benefits to advance the education and skills of Veterans and service members. Spouses and family members may also be eligible for education and training assistance.
Step 1: Visit U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to apply and obtain a Certification of Eligibility (COE).
Step 2: Submit the Veteran Benefits Application with your COE so that we may certify your enrollment for benefits with the VA. If you no longer have your COE, you may submit a Post-9/11 GI Bill® Statement of Benefits, found under the section 'Your Account’ at U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Step 3: Beneficiaries of Chapters 30 and 1606, must submit monthly certifications by calling (877) 823-2378.
Veteran Education Benefits and Repeated Courses:
Repeating courses completed in a previous semester or accepted and applied as transfer credits may affect eligibility for receipt of educational benefits. Students who are receiving VA educational benefits will only receive payment for repeated courses if the initial grade did not meet institutional or programmatic requirements, whichever is more stringent. A student may retake a course to obtain a higher grade as outlined in the Course Grade Replacement Policy, however, benefits will not be paid if the initial course received a passing grade. Students who wish to obtain information on how repeat courses may affect their VA educational benefits should contact the School Certifying Official.
Satisfactory Academic Progress for VA Students:
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) regulations require that all students receiving VA educational benefits meet the University's satisfactory academic progress (SAP) standard and the University's academic standing policy as stated in the University catalog. Students who are dismissed will be reported to the VA and subsequent enrollments will not be reported to the VA until the student is re-instated or re-admitted to matriculated status. The enrollment of students who appeal their academic dismissal and who are allowed to attend in a non-matriculated status during the appeal process will not be reported to the VA. Should the appeal be successful, the student's enrollment will be reported retroactively to the VA for the enrollment period to which the appeal applies.
VA Pending Payment Compliance:
In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e), this school adopts the following additional provisions for any students using U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11 G.I. Bill® (Ch. 33) or Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Ch. 31) benefits, while payment to the institution is pending from the VA. This school will not:
- Prevent the student's enrollment;
- Assess a late penalty fee to;
- Require the student to secure alternative or additional funding;
- Deny the student access to any resources (access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities) available to other students who have satisfied their tuition and fee bills to the institution.
However, to qualify for this provision, such students will be required to:
- Provide Chapter 33 Certificate of Eligibility (or its equivalent) or for Chapter 31,
VA VR&E's contract with the school on VA Form 28-1905 by the first day of class.
- Note: Chapter 33 students can register at the VA Regional Office to use E-Benefits to get the equivalent of a Chapter 33 Certificate of Eligibility. Chapter 31 students cannot get a completed VA Form 28-1905 (or any equivalent) before the VA VR&E case-manager issues it to the school.
- Provide written request to be certified;
- Provide additional information needed to properly certify the enrollment as described in other institutional policies.
Veteran Payment Plans:
Payment plans must be established when payment or financial aid or veteran education benefits cannot be posted to satisfy the balance in full by the bill deadline. The first payment will be due at time of enrollment and payments are due on the 15th of the month thereafter. The $45 plan fee is waived for eligible veterans.
|Fall Plan Enrollment:||Sign up by the bill due date July 15
|April- May||7 Payments June thru December|
|June||6 Payments July thru December|
|July||5 Payments August thru December|
Students who register after the bill due date may enroll for the remaining installments.
|Spring Plan Enrollment:||Sign up by the bill due date December 15
|November- December||5 Payments January thru May|
Students who register after the bill due date may enroll for the remaining installments.
|Summer Plan Enrollment:||Sign up after you register for classes, bill due upon registration|
|March- April||4 Payments May thru August|
|May||3 Payments June thru August|
|June||2 Payments July thru August|
Students who register after the bill due date may enroll for the remaining installments.
Plans will automatically recalculate due to account adjustments, which may include additional charges, unanticipated payments, or a change in financial aid credits to the student's account. Students and authorized users will be notified of any adjustments to the student's monthly payment plan amount. lease see Past Due Accounts for other terms and conditions regarding late fees/holds that may be placed on past due payment plan accounts.
Pursuant to Section 702 of the Choice Act, certain out-of-state veterans and their dependents may be eligible for in-state tuition and fee rates. Covered individuals include:
- A veteran who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- A spouse or child using transferred benefits who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within 3 years of the transferor's discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
- A spouse or child using benefits under the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship who lives in the state in which the institution of higher learning is located (regardless of his/her formal state of residence) and enrolls in the school within three years of the servicemember's death in the line of duty following a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.
For more information or to reclassify residency status, please contact the SCSU Veterans Services Office.
Out-of-state Post 9/11 GI Bill ® recipients may be eligible to participate in the Yellow Ribbon program. Under the Yellow Ribbon Program, the VA will match the school's contributions dollar-for-dollar to cover the cost differential between in-state and out-of-state students. To receive benefits under the Yellow Ribbon Program you must be eligible for the maximum benefit rate under the Post 9/11 GI Bill ®, this includes:
- Those who served 36 months (may be aggregate) on active duty
- Purple Heart recipients with an honorable discharge and any amount of service
- Those discharged after 60 days with a service-connected disability and served 30 continuous days after Sept.10, 2011
- Children using transferred benefits
- Children using transferred benefits if their servicemember's transferor is at the 100 percent level (36 months served)
- Effective August 1, 2022, servicemembers at the 100 percent level and transferee spouses whose transferor is at the 100 percent level
The Yellow Ribbon Program is limited to 50 students per academic year at SCSU on a first come, first served basis. To sign up, please contact the SCSU Veterans' Services Office.
Coverage amounts and monetary limits
The Tuition Assistance Program may fund up to 100% of your college tuition and certain fees with the following limit:
- Not to exceed $250 per semester credit hour or $166 per quarter credit hour
- Not to exceed $4,500 per fiscal year, Oct.1 through Sept. 30
The Tuition Assistance Program is open to officers, warrant officers and enlisted active-duty service personnel in all four service branches and the U.S. Coast Guard. In addition, members of the National Guard and Reserve Components may be eligible for TA based on their service eligibility. To be eligible for TA, an enlisted service member must have enough time remaining in service to complete the course for which he or she has applied. After the completion of a course, an officer using TA must fulfill a service obligation that runs parallel with - not in addition to - any existing service obligation.
Members must submit a TA application up to 90 days prior to the course start date. All TA applications must be command approved by the ESO 14 days prior to the course start date. Please visit your respective Military Service education portal for additional information:
Certain tuition waivers are approved by Connecticut General Statute, other tuition and fee waivers are established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU). At publication time, the following authorizations were expected to be in effect for the 2021-2022 academic year. This listing is intended to help estimate eligibility, though direct inquiry and application for any below listed waiver should be made with the appropriate department.
Application Fee (Financially Needy):
A waiver of the admissions application fee is authorized for any financially needy student, who (A) has taken the SAT I test using the SAT Fee Waiver; or (B) is a participant in CONNTAC-EOC or an equally recognized educational entity; or (C) is a participant in a CSU-sanctioned special access program such as CONNCAP or Upward Bound; or (D) in the opinion of the university president or designee has special circumstances. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Admissions Office.
CT Army or Air National Guard Member:
Tuition is waived for any active member of the Connecticut Army or Air National Guard who (A) has been certified by the Adjutant General or such Adjutant General's designee as a member in good standing of the guard, and (B) is enrolled or accepted for admission to such institution on a full-time or part-time basis in an undergraduate or graduate degree-granting program. Please note: This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-5. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
CT Police Academy Student:
Tuition is waived for any student attending the Connecticut Police Academy who is enrolled in a law enforcement program at said academy offered in coordination with the university which accredits courses taken in such program. Please note: This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-4. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
CT Secondary Education Student (enrolled in a university course):
(A) The president may waive all tuition and fees or may impose the registration fee at his/her discretion for any student from a Connecticut Secondary Education school which has a specific agreement with a university within the Connecticut State University System for enrollment in up to two courses per semester or summer session on a space-available basis. (B)Academically qualified students not covered by an agreement between their school and a university may enroll in up to two courses per semester or summer session for university credits and will be charged the regular tuition and/or fees and registration fee. (C) A waiver of the part-time Tuition and General University Fee is authorized for academically qualified students enrolled in up to two courses per semester for university credit in those cases in which an academic department of a university authorizes a high school faculty member(s) to teach those university courses at a high school under the department’s supervision. Students at Southern Connecticut State University will pay a $15 fee for a “rush” transcript. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Early College Experience Coordinator.
Dependent 9/11 KIA:
Tuition is waived for any resident of the state who is a dependent child or surviving spouse of a person who was killed in action while performing active military duty with the armed forces of the United States on or after September 11, 2001, and who was a resident of this state. Please note: This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-9. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a resident of the state who was killed in a multivehicle crash at or near the intersection of Routes 44 and 10 and Nod Road in Avon on July 29, 2005. Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-8. Please note: This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a person whom the armed forces of the United States has declared to be missing in action or to have been a prisoner of war while serving in such armed forces after January 1, 1960, which child has been accepted for admission to such institution and is a resident of Connecticut at the time such child is accepted for admission to such institution. Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-1. A waiver of the Extension fee (summer and winter sessions) is authorized as well. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a (A) police officer, as defined in section 7-294a, or supernumerary or auxiliary police officer, (B) firefighter, as defined in section 7-323j, or member of a volunteer fire company, (C) municipal employee, or (D) state employee, as defined in section 5-154, killed in the line of duty. Please note: This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-6. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Tuition and Fee Policies
Tuition is waived for any resident of this state who is a dependent child or surviving spouse of a specified terrorist victim who was a resident of the state. Please note: This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-7. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Federal Internship Program:
A waiver of all fees except for tuition and the cost of student accident and sickness insurance for one semester is authorized for any Public Policy and Government major who participates in the Federal Internship Program in Washington, DC on a full-time basis and not able to avail themselves of services normally provided while on campus. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Department of Political Science.
Full-time Student Attending Another Connecticut Public Higher Education Institution:
Any matriculated full-time student enrolled at a public institution of higher education in Connecticut who has paid tuition at his or her college or university will be admitted on a space available basis without further charge to any course offered by a university within the Connecticut State University System provided the course is not offered at the student’s college or university and the student’s admission to such course(s) is recommended by the president or appropriate academic officer from his/her college or university. No student will be permitted to carry more than two courses in any semester without consent of the president of the host campus. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Transfer Student Services Office.
Graduate students awarded full assistantships shall pay full-time tuition; graduate students awarded half assistantships and enrolled for nine semester hours or more shall pay full-time tuition; those enrolled for less than nine hours shall pay appropriate registration and course fees for part-time students. However, the following fees shall be waived for graduate assistants: University Fee, University General Fee (except for that portion attributable to student accident insurance), and the Student Activity Fee. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 6/13/97. For more information, please contact the Academic Affairs Office.
Graduate Continuous Enrollment Fee:
A waiver of the Graduate Continuous Enrollment Fee is authorized if A) the student has medical documentation supporting the waiver request; B) the course the student was enrolled in has been cancelled; or C) in the opinion of the University President or designee, the student has special circumstances warranting a waiver. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 02/04/00. For more information, please contact the Dean's Office within the School of Graduate and Professional Studies.
Graduate Interns – Full-time:
Graduate Interns enrolled at any university within the Connecticut State University System as full-time graduate students shall be required to pay full-time tuition, a University General Fee sufficient to defray the cost of student accident insurance, and student sickness insurance (if not waived by the student in accordance with Board policy), but the balance of the University General Fee as well as all other fees imposed by the Board shall be waived. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Student Affairs Office.
Graduate Interns – Part-time:
Graduate Interns enrolled at any university within the Connecticut State University System as part-time graduate students shall receive a waiver of part-time tuition and all fees including summer session and winter session Extension fees up to a total maximum of 18 credit hours, provided the interns are enrolled in courses required for completion of their degree program. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Student Affairs Office.
Part-time International Student:
A waiver of part-time Tuition, General University Fee, the registration fee, and room and board for one semester, is authorized if approved by the university for any part-time international student whose home university has, in the judgment of the university president, provided services or waived tuition and/or fees of corresponding value for students and/or faculty of the Connecticut State University System. The university president will report annually by fiscal year the number of waivers, dollar amount, and justification for the waivers by July 15 to the Chancellor of the Connecticut State University System. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Office of International Education.
The University is authorized to waive room and board for any Resident Assistant. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Residence Life Office.
Senior Citizen (62 or older - part-time):
Tuition is waived for any resident of Connecticut sixty-two years of age or older who has been accepted for admission to such institution, provided (A) such person is enrolled in a degree-granting program, or (B) at the end of the regular registration period, there are enrolled in the course a sufficient number of students other than those persons eligible for waivers pursuant to this subdivision to offer the course in which such person intends to enroll and there is space available in such course after accommodating all such students. Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-3. A full waiver of the Extension fee (summer and winter sessions) is authorized as well. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Senior Citizen (62 or older - full-time):
Tuition is waived for any resident of Connecticut sixty-two years of age or older who has been accepted for admission to such institution, provided (A) such person is enrolled in a degree-granting program, or (B) at the end of the regular registration period, there are enrolled in the course a sufficient number of students other than those persons eligible for waivers pursuant to this subdivision to offer the course in which such person intends to enroll and there is space available in such course after accommodating all such students. Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-3. A waiver of the University Fee is authorized for any Connecticut resident sixty-two years or older who is enrolled in a degree-granting program pursuant to the provisions of Section 10a-99 of the CGS. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
United Technologies Corp. Employee Scholar Program:
All UTC eligible participants will be granted a 5% waiver off of the published class/subject tuition costs for all program offered at any of the Connecticut State University or Charter Oak State College either on campus or on-line during the spring and fall semesters and off of the published course fees for all programs delivered during the summer and winter session on campus or online. Per Connecticut Board of Regents on 10/15/15, program will run through 12/31/20. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Tuition is waived for any veteran who performed service in time of war, as defined in subsection (a) of section 27-103, except that for purposes of this subsection, "service in time of war" shall not include time spent in attendance at a military service academy, who has been accepted for admission to such institution and is domiciled in this state at the time such veteran is accepted for admission to such institution. The state tuition waiver covers the amount of tuition which exceeds the tuition benefit received under the federal 2008 Post-9/11 Veteran Educational Assistance Act. Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-2. A fifty (50%) percent Extension fee waiver (summer and winter sessions) is authorized as well. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
That the maximum amount of Yellow Ribbon waiver that will be provided per individual in any given academic year shall be equal to one-half of the differential between in-state and out-of-state tuition and required fees for the particular program in which the student is enrolled. Per Connecticut Board of Regents 05/05/11. For more information, please contact the Student Accounts Office.
Note: Per Connecticut General Statute 10a-99-d, if any person who receives a tuition
waiver, in accordance with the provisions above, also receives educational reimbursement
from an employer, such waiver shall be reduced by the amount of such educational reimbursement.
Further, Veterans described above shall be given the same status as students not receiving
tuition waivers in registration for courses at Connecticut State Universities.