Tuition and Fees

View/Print PDF

Fees are established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (ConnSCU).  At publication time, the following fees were expected to be in effect for the 2016-2017 academic year.  This listing is intended to help estimate the costs of attending the University. Students will be responsible for any fee increase that the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities authorizes up to the first day of classes.

FULL-TIME AND PART-TIME STATUS

Only those students who have been admitted to a graduate program through the Office of Graduate Admissions and the School of Graduate Studies, Research and Innovation may be classified as full-time graduate students. To maintain full-time status, a graduate student must be registered for at least 9 credit hours. Part-time graduate students are those registered for fewer than 9 credit hours per semester.  Doctoral students are all considered part-time, regardless of the credit load.

A student is registered as full-time or as part-time for tuition purposes. Up to the end of the Add/Drop period, a qualified student may, by submitting the appropriate forms, change from full-time to part-time or from part-time to full-time. After the last day for Add/Drop, there will be no change in status for tuition purposes.

RESIDENCE STATUS

Students admitted to the university are classified as Connecticut residents or out-of-state residents according to Connecticut statute and the policies of the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities. International students on visas are considered out-of-state residents.

Whenever the university deems it necessary, the student may be requested to submit an affidavit to certify residence status in accordance with regulations established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities.  The failure of a student to disclose fully and accurately all facts relating to residence status shall be grounds for dismissal from the School of Graduate Studies, Research, and Innovation.

A student classified as an out-of-state resident who feels that he or she qualifies as a bona fide resident of Connecticut may request a change of classification from the Registrar by completing a Residency Reclassification Affidavit and supplying supporting documentation. Forms can be obtained in the Registrar's Office, Wintergreen Building.

TUITION AND FEES

  Connecticut Resident* Out-of State Resident/
International Student*
Tuition $6,497 $18,102
University Fee $865 $2,060
University General Fee $3,803 $3,803
Student Activity Fee $54 $54
Total $11,219 $24,019

*The rates above include the Fall and Spring terms for a full-time student in most graduate programs, except:

  • Master of Business Administration program Connecticut resident tuition is $7,686, and out-of-state resident/international student tuition is $19,508. 
  • Accelerated Master of Business Administration Connecticut resident, out-of-state/international student tuition is $11,973, and students receive the required course textbooks in class since the cost of textbooks for the program is included in the tuition and fees.  If students wish to purchase their own books, they must notify the MBA Program Director to receive a credit. 
  • Master of Library Science program Connecticut resident, out-of-state/international tuition is $7,686.

Tuition and fees are not based on the level (graduate/undergraduate) of the course; tuition and fees are instead based on students' type or level (graduate/ undergraduate), their residency (in state/out-of-state), their status (full-time or part-time), and if applicable, the course/program rate (MBA, MLS, EdD, Online). A student who has earned a bachelor's degree and is not formally admitted to a second undergraduate program will be considered a graduate level student.

For the part-time, online, intersession, and doctoral rates, please visit the Tuition and Fees section of the Student Accounts website.

OTHER FEES AND COSTS

   
Application Fee $50 non-refundable one-time fee must be submitted with the completed application for admission.
Bad Check Penalty $20 non-refundable fee will be assessed for each check returned from the bank as uncollectible.
Challenge Exam Fee $200/occurrence for full-time and part-time students. $250/occurrence for other students.
Credit Card Service Fee  2.50%/transaction non-refundable fee will be applied to tuition and fee credit card transactions
Duplicate Diploma $25/occurrence
Ed.D. Evaluation Fee $100/occurrence
Fitness Center Fee $45/semester
Graduate Continuous Enrollment Fee

$150/semester

Graduate Re-Entry Fee

$50/occurrence

Health Insurance The University requires mandatory health insurance for all full-time students. The fall semester bill will include a charge for 5 months of coverage August 1 – December 31 for $1,238. The spring semester bill will include a charge for 7 months of coverage January 1 – July 31 for $1,715. If the student has comparable health insurance coverage and wishes to waive the health insurance charge on the bill, the student may submit a health insurance waiver application by the posted deadlines on the Student Accounts Office website. A late waiver filing fee of $65 will be assessed for waiver applications received after the posted deadlines.
Lab Fees (course)
  • Art Studio Lab Fee $60/course
  • Counseling Procedures Lab Fee $200/course
  • Counseling Procedures w/Children Lab Fee $20/course
  • EMT Lab Fee $75/course
  • Language Lab Fee $75/course
  • Music Lab Fee $50/course
  • Recreation and Leisure Lab Fee $10/course
  • Science Lab Fee $60/course
Lab Fees (program)
  • Nursing Lab Fee $396 fee for full-time student/semester
  • Nursing Lab Fee  $33 fee for part-time student/credit

The Nursing program lab fee is assessed on a per semester (full-time) or per credit (part-time) basis to equally distribute this additional program cost over the length of enrollment in the program.  It is not assessed based on course content for the term.

Late Fee $50/occurrence non-refundable fee will be assessed to past due accounts after the expiration of the ten (10) day grace period.  A one-time courtesy waiver may be granted upon request.
Lost ID Card $10 fee (first occurrence)
$20 fee (occurrence thereafter)
Nursing Ed.D Residency Fee $1,104/residency
Over Registration Fee
  • In-state graduate student registered for more than 18 credits:  $656 per credit.
  • Out-of-state graduate student registered for more than 18 credits:  $681 per credit.
  • In-state MBA/in-state and out-of-state MLS graduate student registered for more than 18 credits:  $742 per credit.
  • Out-of-state MBA graduate student registered for more than 18 credits:  $763 per credit.
Payment Plan Enrollment Fee $45/term non-refundable fee will be payable at the time of enrollment in a payment plan agreement.
Re-Registration Fee $100 non-refundable fee will be charged to students who have been dropped from their courses and would like to re-register.  A one-time courtesy waiver may be granted upon request.
Study Abroad Application Fee $75/semester
Study Abroad Program Fee $150/semester
Transcript Fee No charge
Transcript On-Demand Fee $15/occurrence non-refundable fee is payable at the time of request, for official transcripts that are requested in-person and needed immediately.

PAYMENT OF TUITION AND FEES

Bill Statements:

Southern Connecticut State University has adopted the Electronic Mail Student Notification Policy, which outlines email as an official means of communication to students; therefore, paper bill statements are no longer sent out. 

Payment Due Dates:

Fall and spring semester bills are due approximately 4-6 weeks prior to the first day of university-wide classes, or upon registration if the due date has passed.  Payment for winter, spring break, and summer session is due upon registration.  

To establish proper payment arrangements by the bill deadline, the Student Accounts Office must receive one or a combination of the following to cover the balance in full:

  • Accepted financial aid award, including scholarships, posted to the student's account.
  • Personal or third party payment on account.  
  • Signed payment plan agreement with down payment. 

Please visit the Student Accounts website for more information.

Past Due Accounts:

An account is considered past due once the due date has passed.  Student accounts may become past due for various reasons (i.e. inadequate or returned financial aid, missed payment(s) on payment plans, the addition of unpaid charges/courses after the bill due date, etc.) 

Penalty for Late/Non-Payment:

If the account is not paid by the deadline, a hold may be placed restricting course registration, access to grades, transcript requests, and residence hall check in.  Past due accounts may also subject to a $50 late fee after a ten (10) day grace period, and if applicable, the student's housing assignment and class schedule may be cancelled. 

Past Due Payment Plan:

Students may request a past due payment plan with the Student Accounts, although the hold described above will remain in place until the account balance is paid in full.  The penalties for late/non-payment above also apply to past due payment plans.  Failure to make a required payment plan installment within thirty (30) days of any due date will result in the student being withdrawn from the past due payment plan and the account will be sent to a collection agency without further notice.

Collection of Debt:

In an effort to collect past due debt, the University will send collection letters and emails to students at their last known address.  To avoid account referral to a collection agency, students must pay the balance in full, or set up a past due payment plan within 30 days of the notice.  For accounts referred to a collection agency, students are responsible for all collection fees, the balance will be reported to a national credit bureau(s), and the University will no longer accept direct payment--in that the student must make all payments to the collection agency before conducting any further business with the University.

REFUNDS

Regulations established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities govern the refund of tuition and other fees at Southern Connecticut State University. Full-time students who wish to receive a refund must withdraw formally from the university. Full-time students are not entitled to a refund for courses individually dropped. Part-time students who wish to receive course refunds must formally withdraw from the course(s). It is the student's responsibility to withdraw online through their Banner Web account.


For the purpose of this policy, a school term may be defined as the period of time with specific start and end dates, during which the University holds classes. Multiple terms of different lengths may exist within any given semester or intersession. The amount of refund is based on the date the student withdraws from the term, not on whether the student attended classes or on how many classes the student attended.


For students who withdrew/dropped from a course(s) or the university, please see the Refund Policies below for the time periods where a cancellation of charges may be applicable. These refund policies exclude the effect of the return of financial aid and veteran benefits, which may need to be returned from the student's account in the event of withdrawal. This could result in the student owing funds to the University, the government, or both. However, if there are any excess funds on the account, the Student Accounts Office will automatically process a refund. If you have already received a refund, you may not be entitled to keep it if there is a resulting balance due.

Refund Schedule

Full-time Tuition and Fee Refund Schedule

  • Upon withdrawal from the University up to, but not including, the first day of the term, as defined by the published University calendar, 100% of the term charges will be cancelled.
  • 90% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first week of the term.
  • 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the second week of the term.
  • 40% of the term charges will be cancelled during the third and fourth weeks of the term.
  • No cancellation of charges after the fourth week of the term.

Note:  The Application Fee, Re-Registration Fee, and Enrollment Confirmation Deposit are non-refundable.

Part-time Tuition and Fee Refund Schedule

Courses 8 weeks or greater in length:

  • 100% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first week of the term.
  • 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the second week of the term.
  • 40% of the term charges will be cancelled during the third and fourth weeks of the term.
  • No refund after the fourth week of the term.

Courses 3 to 7 weeks in length:

  • 100% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first 3 calendar days of the term.
  • 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the fourth, fifth, sixth calendar days of the term.
  • 40% of the term charges will be cancelled during the seventh, eighth, and ninth calendar day of the term.
  • No cancellation of charges after the ninth calendar day of the term.

Courses less than 3 weeks in length:

  • 100% of the term charges will be cancelled during the first 2 calendar days of the term.
  • 60% of the term charges will be cancelled during the third and fourth calendar day of the term.
  • No cancellation of charges after the fourth calendar day of the term.

Ed.D. Professional Seminar:

  • 75% of the term charges will be cancelled within the first 2 calendar days of the term.
  • No cancellation of charges thereafter.

Note:  Online courses follow the same refund schedules above.  The Registration Fee and Re-Registration Fee are non-refundable, except that the Registration Fee will be refunded in cases where the university cancels a course.

Refund Appeal

Under special circumstances, the University may authorize a refund of tuition and fees. Refund appeals must be made within two weeks of a student's withdrawal. For more information, please contact the Registrar's Office.

NEW ENGLAND REGIONAL STUDENT PROGRAM

The New England Regional Student Program (RSP) enables New England residents to enroll in out-of-state public colleges and universities in the six state region at reduced tuition rates for certain degree programs that are not offered by their home state public institutions.

Students in this program pay 50 percent above in-state tuition rather than the full out-of-state tuition. Students must submit to the Registrar's Office a new completed application each semester in order to remain eligible for RSP.

Detailed information about the RSP can be obtained through the Registrar's Office or from the Regional Student Program, New England Board of Higher Education, 45 Temple Place, Boston, MA 02111.

VETERANS

Southern Connecticut State University is approved for the training of veterans and other eligible persons by the state approving agency, the Connecticut Office of Higher Education.  The following resources are listed here as a guide though the eligibility and certification process.  For more information or assistance in applying please contact the SCSU Veterans Services Office.  All forms and documents must be submitted to the Certifying Officials, located in the Student Accounts Office in the Wintergreen building.

Veteran Tuition Waiver:

Under Connecticut state statutes, tuition at Connecticut public colleges and universities may be waived for qualified persons who are:

  1. Eligible veterans; or
  2. Active members of the CT Army and Air National Guard; or
  3. CT residents who are dependent childrem or a surviving spouse of a member of the Armed Forces killed in action on or after September 11, 2001, who was a CT resident; or
  4. CT residents who are dependent children of a person whom the Armed Forces has declared to be either missing in action or a prisoner of war while serving in the Armed Forces after January 1, 1960. 

The state tuition waiver also covers the amount of tuition which exceeds the tuition benefit received under the federal 2008 Post-9/11 Veteran Educational Assistance Act.

Summer, intersession, and online extension courses are assessed an extension course fee, instead of semester based tuition and fees.  Qualified persons in category 1 above may receive a 50% waiver of the extension course fee, and qualified persons in category 4 above may receive a 100% waiver of the extension course fee.  Other college costs such as books, fees, parking, and room and board are not waived. 

To be qualified, all of the application requirements must be satisfied.  Eligibility is not retroactive.  Please visit the Student Accounts for more information on how to apply. 

Veteran Education Benefits:

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs offers many benefits to advance the education and skills of Veterans and service members.  Spouses and family members may also be eligible for education and training assistance. 

Apply for benefits:

  • Go to VA Website for benefit information and applications
  • Obtain Certification of Eligibility/Notice of Basic Eligibility upon approval

Submit Documents to SCSU:

Certify Enrollment:

  • CH. 30, 1606, 1607 –submit your monthly attendance on the VA WAVE site
  • CH. 31 –submit certification of status on the VA website VONAPP

Veteran Payment Plans:

Students are required to pay any balance not covered by financial aid and veteran education benefits by the bill due date.  Students may enroll in an installment payment plan to make arrangements for payment of the balance due.

  • The payment plan agreement will include the term balance due at 0.00% interest rate and the plan enrollment fee of $45.00.  The $45.00 plan fee is waived for eligible veterans.
  • The first installment is due at the time of enrollment in the plan. 
  • Veteran payment installments are due on the 15th monthly. 
  • The remaining installments must be paid in full prior to the start date of the next term registration.  Veterans may extend their plan installments thru the end of the current term.

Out-of-State Veterans:

Out-of-state veterans and their dependents may be eligible for in-state tuition and fee rates per the VA Choice Act of 2014. 

Alternatively, out-of-state Chapter 33 Post 9/11 GI Bill veterans may be eligible to participate in the Yellow Ribbon program.  Under the Yellow Ribbon Program the VA will match institutional contributions dollar-for-dollar to cover the cost differential between in-state and out-of-state students.  This is limited to 50 veterans per academic year at SCSU.

For more information or to reclassify residency status, please contact the SCSU Veterans Services Office.

Veterans Health Insurance Waiver:

Full-time students are required to maintain health insurance coverage, and will be automatically billed and enrolled in the University sponsored plan. To view plan documents, ask questions about coverage, or print ID card, please visit the Aetna Student Health website or call 877-375-4244.

If a student has other comparable health insurance, including active duty and veteran students under chapter 1607, 30, 31, or 33 who are "VA service-connected" with the listed insurance carrier as Tricare/VA, a student may waive the insurance by selecting Tricare/VA on the waiver application, using the last four digits of the student's SSN as the policy number, to receive a credit on your bill.

WAIVERS

Certain tuition waivers are approved by Connecticut General Statute, other tuition and fee waivers are established by the Board of Regents for the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (ConnSCU).  At publication time, the following authorizations were expected to be in effect for the 2016-2017 academic year. This listing is intended to help estimate eligibility, though direct inquiry and application for any below listed waiver should be made with the appropriate department.

Application Fee (Financially Needy):

A waiver of the admissions application fee is authorized for any financially needy student, who (A) has taken the SAT I test using the SAT Fee Waiver; or (B) is a participant in CONNTAC-EOC or an equally recognized educational entity; or (C) is a participant in a CSU-sanctioned special access program such as CONNCAP or Upward Bound; or (D) in the opinion of the university president or designee has special circumstances.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Admissions Office. 

CT Army or Air National Guard Member:

Tuition is waived for any active member of the Connecticut Army or Air National Guard who (A) has been certified by the Adjutant General or such Adjutant General's designee as a member in good standing of the guard, and (B) is enrolled or accepted for admission to such institution on a full-time or part-time basis in an undergraduate or graduate degree-granting program.  Please note:  This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.)  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-5.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office. 

CT Police Academy Student:

Tuition is waived for any student attending the Connecticut Police Academy who is enrolled in a law enforcement program at said academy offered in coordination with the university which accredits courses taken in such program.  Please note:  This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.)  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-4.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office. 

CT Secondary Education Student (enrolled in a university course):

(A) The president may waive all tuition and fees or may impose the registration fee at his/her discretion for any student from a Connecticut Secondary Education school which has a specific agreement with a university within the Connecticut State University System for enrollment in up to two courses per semester or summer session on a space-available basis. (B)Academically qualified students not covered by an agreement between their school and a university may enroll in up to two courses per semester or summer session for university credits and will be charged the regular tuition and/or fees and registration fee. (C) A waiver of the part-time Tuition and General University Fee is authorized for academically qualified students enrolled in up to two courses per semester for university credit in those cases in which an academic department of a university authorizes a high school faculty member(s) to teach those university courses at a high school under the department’s supervision. Students at Southern Connecticut State University will pay a $15 fee for a “rush” transcript.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Academic Advisement Office.  

Dependent 9/11 KIA:

Tuition is waived for any resident of the state who is a dependent child or surviving spouse of a person who was killed in action while performing active military duty with the armed forces of the United States on or after September 11, 2001, and who was a resident of this state.  Please note:  This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-9.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.          

Dependent Avon:

Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a resident of the state who was killed in a multivehicle crash at or near the intersection of Routes 44 and 10 and Nod Road in Avon on July 29, 2005.  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-8.   Please note:  This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.

Dependent MIA/POW:

Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a person whom the armed forces of the United States has declared to be missing in action or to have been a prisoner of war while serving in such armed forces after January 1, 1960, which child has been accepted for admission to such institution and is a resident of Connecticut at the time such child is accepted for admission to such institution.  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-1.  A waiver of the Extension fee (summer and winter sessions) is authorized as well.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.

Dependent Police/Fire/Municipal/State:

Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a (A) police officer, as defined in section 7-294a, or supernumerary or auxiliary police officer, (B) firefighter, as defined in section 7-323j, or member of a volunteer fire company, (C) municipal employee, or (D) state employee, as defined in section 5-154, killed in the line of duty.  Please note:  This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-6.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.  

Dependent Terrorist Victim:

Tuition is waived for any resident of this state who is a dependent child or surviving spouse of a specified terrorist victim who was a resident of the state.  Please note:  This waiver is not applicable during intersessions (winter, spring break, summer.) Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-7.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.

Federal Internship Program:

A waiver of all fees except for tuition and the cost of student accident and sickness insurance for one semester is authorized for any Public Policy and Government major who participates in the Federal Internship Program in Washington, DC on a full-time basis and not able to avail themselves of services normally provided while on campus.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Department of Political Science. 

Full-time Student Attending Another Connecticut Public Higher Education Institution:

Any matriculated full-time student enrolled at a public institution of higher education in Connecticut who has paid tuition at his or her college or university will be admitted on a space available basis without further charge to any course offered by a university within the Connecticut State University System provided the course is not offered at the student’s college or university and the student’s admission to such course(s) is recommended by the president or appropriate academic officer from his/her college or university. No student will be permitted to carry more than two courses in any semester without consent of the president of the host campus.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Academic Advisement Office.

Graduate Assistants:

Graduate students awarded full assistantships shall pay full-time tuition; graduate students awarded half assistantships and enrolled for nine semester hours or more shall pay full-time tuition; those enrolled for less than nine hours shall pay appropriate registration and course fees for part-time students.  However, the following fees shall be waived for graduate assistants: University Fee, University General Fee (except for that portion attributable to student accident insurance), and the Student Activity Fee.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 6/13/97.  For more information please contact the Academic Affairs Office.      

Graduate Continuous Enrollment Fee:

A waiver of the Graduate Continuous Enrollment Fee is authorized if A) the student has medical documentation supporting the waiver request; B) the course the student was enrolled in has been cancelled; or C) in the opinion of the University President or designee, the student has special circumstances warranting a waiver.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 02/04/00.  For more information please contact the Office of Graduate Studies. 

Graduate Interns – Full-time:

Graduate Interns enrolled at any university within the Connecticut State University System as full-time graduate students shall be required to pay full-time tuition, a University General Fee sufficient to defray the cost of student accident insurance, and student sickness insurance (if not waived by the student in accordance with Board policy), but the balance of the University General Fee as well as all other fees imposed by the Board shall be waived.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Student Affairs Office.  

Graduate Interns – Part-time:

Graduate Interns enrolled at any university within the Connecticut State University System as part-time graduate students shall receive a waiver of part-time tuition and all fees including summer session and winter session Extension fees up to a total maximum of 18 credit hours, provided the interns are enrolled in courses required for completion of their degree program.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Student Affairs Office. 

Health Insurance:

The mandatory sickness insurance may be waived for full-time students if they provide a properly executed university waiver, which attests to the fact that they have adequate sickness insurance coverage from an insurance carrier licensed to operate in the United States and identifies the carrier and the policy number of the alternative insurance.  The mandatory accident insurance for full-time students may not be waived.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 04/03/03.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office. 

Out-of-State Scholarship Recipient:

When the University is funding 100% of a student’s full scholarship a waiver for the difference between the out-of-state and in-state tuition and fee rates for students will be waived.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 02/26/15.  For more information please contact the Athletics Department. 

Part-time International Student:

A waiver of part-time Tuition, General University Fee, the registration fee, and room and board for one semester, is authorized if approved by the university for any part-time international student whose home university has, in the judgment of the university president, provided services or waived tuition and/or fees of corresponding value for students and/or faculty of the Connecticut State University System. The university president will report annually by fiscal year the number of waivers, dollar amount, and justification for the waivers by July 15 to the Chancellor of the Connecticut State University System.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Office of International Education.  

Resident Assistant:

The University is authorized to waive room and board for any Resident Assistant.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Residence Life Office.  

Senior Citizen (62 or older - part-time):

Tuition is waived for any resident of Connecticut sixty-two years of age or older who has been accepted for admission to such institution, provided (A) such person is enrolled in a degree-granting program, or (B) at the end of the regular registration period, there are enrolled in the course a sufficient number of students other than those persons eligible for waivers pursuant to this subdivision to offer the course in which such person intends to enroll and there is space available in such course after accommodating all such students.  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-3.  A full waiver of the Extension fee (summer and winter sessions) is authorized as well.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Academic Advisement Office.

Senior Citizen (62 or older - full-time):

Tuition is waived for any resident of Connecticut sixty-two years of age or older who has been accepted for admission to such institution, provided (A) such person is enrolled in a degree-granting program, or (B) at the end of the regular registration period, there are enrolled in the course a sufficient number of students other than those persons eligible for waivers pursuant to this subdivision to offer the course in which such person intends to enroll and there is space available in such course after accommodating all such students.  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-3.  A waiver of the University Fee is authorized for any Connecticut resident sixty-two years or older who is enrolled in a degree-granting program pursuant to the provisions of Section 10a-99 of the CGS.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Academic Advisement Office. 

United Technologies Corp. Employee Scholar Program:

All UTC eligible participants will be granted a 5% waiver off of the published class/subject tuition costs for all program offered at any of the Connecticut State University or Charter Oak State College either on campus or on-line during the spring and fall semesters and off of the published course fees for all programs delivered during the summer and winter session on campus or online.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents on 10/15/15, program will run through 12/31/20.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.   

Veteran:

Tuition is waived for any veteran who performed service in time of war, as defined in subsection (a) of section 27-103, except that for purposes of this subsection, "service in time of war" shall not include time spent in attendance at a military service academy, who has been accepted for admission to such institution and is domiciled in this state at the time such veteran is accepted for admission to such institution.  The state tuition waiver covers the amount of tuition which exceeds the tuition benefit received under the federal 2008 Post-9/11 Veteran Educational Assistance Act.  Per Connecticut General Statutes 10a-99-d-2.  A fifty (50%) percent Extension fee waiver (summer and winter sessions) is authorized as well.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 12/18/14.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.  

Veteran Out-of-State:

That the maximum amount of Yellow Ribbon waiver that will be provided per individual in any given academic year shall be equal to one-half of the differential between in-state and out-of-state tuition and required fees for the particular program in which the student is enrolled.  Per Connecticut Board of Regents 05/05/11.  For more information please contact the Student Accounts Office.  

Note:  Per Connecticut General Statute 10a-99-d, if any person who receives a tuition waiver, in accordance with the provisions above, also receives educational reimbursement from an employer, such waiver shall be reduced by the amount of such educational reimbursement.  Further, Veterans described above shall be given the same status as students not receiving tuition waivers in registration for courses at Connecticut State Universities.